

Jeff Landry Attorney General

State of Louisiana

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL P.O. BOX 94005 BATON ROUGE 70804-9005

Louisiana Sexual Assault Oversight Commission Minutes October 1, 2020 1:45pm Louisiana Department of Justice Office of Attorney General Jeff Landry Meeting Location: Thomas Jefferson Rooms, Claiborne Building 1201 N. Third St. Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Board Members/Designees:

PRESENT- John Sinquefield, Pat Wajtkiewicz, Tammy Vincent, Morgan Lamandre, Myles Robichaux, Sundée Winder, Rafael de Castro, Bob Wertz, Leslie Richard Chambers, and Penny Davis. Other members or their designees were absent.

Other Attendees:

Monica Taylor, Lauryn Sudduth, Kim Wall, Erica Sparacino, Kevin Marcel, Melissa Mendoza, Kelly Smith, and Chiquita Broussard

- Call to Order
 - Commission Chairman John Sinquefield called the meeting to order at 1:52p.m. Opening remarks by Chairman John Sinquefield
- Approval of the Minutes
 - Minutes for the December 4, 2019 meeting were unanimously adopted.
 - Minutes for the February 11, 2020 meeting were unanimously adopted.
- Topics of Discussion.
 - Written Protocols for Forensic Medical Examiners
 - LDH designee Sundée Winder presented the final written protocols for Forensic Medical Examiners as ready to be adopted since she had received no further input or corrections from commission members.
 - Commission Member Morgan Lamandre and Commission Coordinator Monica Taylor discussed their testimony on HSR 1 of the 2020 Regular Session before the House Committee on Administration of Criminal Justice.
 - Commission Members discussed ideas on future legislation for the commission, including needed amendments to Act No. 354 of the 2018 Regular Session and expansion of the ability of the committee to review and make recommendations on any subject matter or issues relating to sexual assault.

- Legal Counsel Lauryn Sudduth and Commission Chair John Sinquefield discussed a proposed report of the activities of the Commission that would be prepared by Lauryn Sudduth and made public record and forwarded to the Louisiana Legislature.
- Public Comment
 - Public comment was invited and none was received.
- Votes
 - Commission members voted to adopt the written protocols for Forensic Medical Examiners in compliance with the directive of Act No. 354, La. R.S. 15:556(A)(1).

• Assign Tasks and Schedule Next Meeting

- Chairman John Sinquefield requested that Commission Coordinator Monica Taylor and Commission Member Morgan Lamandre continue to monitor any HSR 1 activity.
- Chairman John Sinquefield requested that the Commission Members bring a brief synopsis of their ideas for future legislation to the next meeting.
- The Commission voted to maintain the December 15, 2020 meeting at 1:30pm, with the exception that Chairman John Sinquefield was given the authority to schedule the meeting on December 14, 15, or 16, 2020, depending on the availability of the Thomas Jefferson Rooms at the Claiborne Building.

• Adjournment

- The meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:00pm.